Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Focus T-25 day One

So I have re-started Focus T-25 AGAIN.

I promise there was a good reason for stopping the first time. It wasn't the whole "this isn't for me" or "this is too hard" that too often makes people stop workout programs. It was more the "Oh Crap! I have to defend my dissertation, make my defense presentation, be a decent person/wife AND do some actual work work" situation. I feel as if this disclaimer is necessary since I have done some of the workouts and I do love them... but maybe it's just that distance DOES make the heart grow fonder....

Yesterday, I tried the Focus T-25 Alpha Cardio.
Alpha Cardio is THE first workout you will encounter if you ever start that program and I'll tell you one thing. IT'S ROUGH,even with modifications!!! It feels super good though, mostly in that OH MY GOD I CAN'T WALK, PEE OR DO ANYTHING THAT REQUIRES ME TO TAKE MORE THAN ONE STEP BUT I FEEL SUPER ACCOMPLISHED ABOUT THIS WORKOUT good. All the workouts are 25 minutes of non-stop, no toweling off, you only drink your sweat workouts. You can see the timer time down and the closer you are to the end the happier you start to feel... until you realize: Wait.. my legs started feeling sore at around minute 4... This is going to be great tomorrow....

But I digress... I think what I should be talking about is the exhilaration that comes from finishing a HARD, GRUELING, AWESOME workout and how that is something that I have been missing. I enjoyed doing like a million a 5 squats (slight hyperbole) and the insistent soreness in my hamstrings (NOT hyperbole). Today I have Speed 1.0.

This will be fun (I'll let you know how it went tomorrow)

Honesty First (aka Why am I doing this)

So... I'll be honest

I've never been what we call skinny, there is not a gap between my thighs and the guy from Lululemon would probably describe me as the worst advertiser for his useless, sheer leggings. I am what some people consider "thick". That means that I have a butt that won't quit and have so many curves that I'll make you nauseated. I am not ashamed of my body, as a matter of fact I do enjoy how unorthodox it is.

I work out enough to be able to eat and not have my own orbit.I am a certified fitness instructor (I lift heavy and often) but I've never been a twig. I enjoy having a butt and curves but lately things have started to go towards the dark side. Here's the evidence...

1. I am fully aware that I have gained some poundage in the last year and that it makes me look rather rounder. However it is not the fluffy kind of poundage and my clothes still fit. Actually, it is a combination of fluffyness and muscle which would be perfectly fine except for...

2. As I said I am a certified fitness instructor. I have been applying to start re-teaching my fitness program in this new state that I moved to. I have been asked to go audition and I have prepared myself well. Once the audition is over and after talking to me about my great technique, my engaging personality and the fact that I lift model weight I always get the same comment: "Have you thought about teaching Zumba? Your body seems like it'll be more at home in that class" The microagression being, "Yes you'd be a great instructor for your program ONLY if your body were different"... talking about how my body is different...

3. I love my work. I love my workplace but I honestly am trying to work on getting my clothes to look modest enough on my body. I have to try twice as hard as anyone else to get pants that do not hang forever on my butt or shirts that do not have a tiny gap under the boobular area (no safety pin is ever able to do that for ANY of my shirts). Yes, you may say that my option is to go bigger and dowdy. I've tried that. My butt still sticks out and for some reason my body sexifies the dowdiest outfit ever. There are days when I have wanted to just cry and try to get my body to change just so I wouldn't have to deal with one more dress code check in which I get told that my shirt was a little tight or that my butt was more noticeable than it is modest for a lady to show (although I'm sure that if I were a boy none of that would be brought up. Some of the male employees have tighter pants than I do, yet they never seem to get asked to go change).

Anyways, enough whining about my butt and more doing (like the home depot?) I will chronicle here my quest towards a fitter/happier/ less body-hating me....